Whole Tomato Software Forums
Whole Tomato Software Forums
Main Site | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
User name:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your password?

 All Forums
 Visual Assist
 Feature Requests
 Play well with IntelliCode extension
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Mnemonic
Junior Member

Czech Republic
11 Posts

Posted - Aug 16 2018 :  12:32:37 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hello, when the IntelliCode extension is installed, it marks best suggestions with a star. But, if VA is enabled, the star is replaced with a question mark, and what's worse, upon selection, the question mark is inserted in code.

It would be nice if VA was able to interpret the starred suggestions properly.









accord
Whole Tomato Software

United Kingdom
3142 Posts

Posted - Aug 16 2018 :  10:06:46 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I am seeing the same effect here. Thank you for the clear description.

case=118434

For now you can disable the below setting as a workaround:

VA Options -> Suggestions -> Enable in C#

Sorry for the inconvenience.
Go to Top of Page

Madsen
Starting Member

USA
1 Posts

Posted - Sep 01 2018 :  06:37:59 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Why would you disable this btw? Newbie here.
Go to Top of Page

feline
Whole Tomato Software

United Kingdom
15788 Posts

Posted - Sep 01 2018 :  08:48:04 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
It depends on what you mean

In this particular situation, disabling this VA option makes sense since it fixes the conflict with the other extension.

In general, it depends on how you work, which features of VA are most important to you, and how well VA works for you. The setting is there to give you the option, to decide what best suits you.

zen is the art of being at one with the two'ness
Go to Top of Page

sean
Whole Tomato Software

USA
2596 Posts

Posted - Dec 03 2018 :  6:35:24 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
case=118434 is fixed in build 2301
Go to Top of Page

Mnemonic
Junior Member

Czech Republic
11 Posts

Posted - Dec 04 2018 :  1:47:45 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Thank you!

One question, though. Is the menu supposed to look like this?



It seems it's trying to display an invalid unicode character.
Go to Top of Page

sean
Whole Tomato Software

USA
2596 Posts

Posted - Dec 04 2018 :  2:12:46 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
That's odd -- for me, it was displaying a star. What font do you have set for Statement Completion (Tools | Options | Environment | Fonts and Colors | Settings for Statement Completion)? Mine is Segoe UI.
Go to Top of Page

Mnemonic
Junior Member

Czech Republic
11 Posts

Posted - Dec 04 2018 :  4:09:39 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Segoe UI here as well. I do have a Czech language pack installed, but Windows display language is set to US English. I tried fiddling with the regional settings, but no matter what I do, I still see squares instead of stars. Weird.
Go to Top of Page

sean
Whole Tomato Software

USA
2596 Posts

Posted - Dec 04 2018 :  4:21:18 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
If you disable VA listboxes in C#, does the default listbox still show the stars correctly?
Go to Top of Page

Mnemonic
Junior Member

Czech Republic
11 Posts

Posted - Dec 06 2018 :  11:25:56 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Yes, it does.
Go to Top of Page

sean
Whole Tomato Software

USA
2596 Posts

Posted - Dec 06 2018 :  9:44:56 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Can you see if symbols with extended characters are displayed correctly in the listbox and Methods in File (alt+m) list?

Here's some sample code:
class TestUnicodeтрагед夜の
{
private:
long трагедия;
long 夜のン;

public:
long get_трагедия1() const { return трагедия; }
void set_трагедия2(long val) { трагедия = val; }
};


Are the non-ascii characters displayed properly in VA Nav Bar, VA Outline, Methods in File (alt+m) and members listbox?

Edited by - sean on Dec 06 2018 10:08:37 PM
Go to Top of Page

sean
Whole Tomato Software

USA
2596 Posts

Posted - Dec 06 2018 :  9:45:52 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Well that didn't work out -- the forum software munged what I pasted.
Go to Top of Page

sean
Whole Tomato Software

USA
2596 Posts

Posted - Dec 06 2018 :  10:09:39 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
You can copy the class definition in my post then decode it using this page:
http://convertstring.com/EncodeDecode/HtmlDecode
Go to Top of Page

feline
Whole Tomato Software

United Kingdom
15788 Posts

Posted - Dec 07 2018 :  11:15:48 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Mnemonic, can you please try making a new, default C# console program, and see if the stars are shown correctly in listboxes after "Console." ?

I have both the IntelliCode extension and VA 2301 installed at the same time under Windows 10, with the Czech language pack installed, and the display language set to English. The Unicode characters from Sean's tests, and the stars in listboxes from ItelliCode both display correctly for me.

So since this works in a default new solution for me, I am wondering if there is something different about your files or file encoding that could be a factor.

zen is the art of being at one with the two'ness
Go to Top of Page

Mnemonic
Junior Member

Czech Republic
11 Posts

Posted - Dec 09 2018 :  03:52:20 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
sean: Yes, unicode characters seem to display properly everywhere in the UI:




feline: Unfortunately, same result with a fresh console project:



Do you know what unicode character exactly is the star in the list boxes? I could try adding that one to the class names, perhaps?

EDIT: Also don't worry about it too much, it's purely a cosmetic issue :) On the other hand, MS will probably push IntelliCode much further in VS2019 so more people are likely to encounter this.

Edited by - Mnemonic on Dec 09 2018 03:55:14 AM
Go to Top of Page

feline
Whole Tomato Software

United Kingdom
15788 Posts

Posted - Dec 10 2018 :  06:29:15 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Can you please export your VA and IDE settings and send them to me:

VA Options -> Performance -> Export Settings
IDE tools menu -> Import and Export Settings -> Export selected environment settings

and also send me the console project you are working with that has the problem. I can then import the settings and try the same solution here and see if I can reproduce the problem.

This happens so reliably for you, it suggests there is a specific trigger, but I am not sure where to look for it.

Please submit the files via the form:

http://www.wholetomato.com/support/contact.asp

including this thread ID or URL in the description, so we can match it up.

zen is the art of being at one with the two'ness

Edited by - feline on Dec 10 2018 06:29:35 AM
Go to Top of Page
  Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Jump To:
© 2018 Whole Tomato Software, Inc Go To Top Of Page
Snitz Forums 2000