Three MUST-HAVE features:
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

znakeeye
Tomato Guru

379 Posts

Posted - Aug 04 2006 :  2:24:00 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I'm using VisualAssist every day at work, and I think of these missing features all the time!
Hey, before I start babbling; THANK YOU for making me coding 10 times faster!

1) New list filter
I type 'm_myDerivedClass' and this nifty VA-list pops up. There are a bunch of filters, but NONE that ONLY shows methods/attributes unique for THIS class! For instance, I know I added a 'SetSpecialValue' function, but there is no way I can filter out all 'Set***' functions present in the parent class (CDialog in this case).

2) Automatic return type suggestion
I'm an experienced MFC developer. Coding in MFC (and other frameworks) often involves overriding methods. So, for instance I type: 'CMyNewClass::OnInitDialog('
But wait! What was the return value? Sure, it is displayed in this tooltip when you place the MOUSE (yuck!) cursor over the function name... Why not simply let Visual Assist put the return value in front of the declaration FOR me? That would be awesome!

3) Function declarations in header/code files
Header- and code-files. Don't you hate typing that stupid function head TWICE? I know most programmers start writing a member function of a class inside the cpp-file. Then they copy the declaration to the h-file and finally start writing the code in the cpp-file. This is a feature I think Visual C++ should have had since v4.0, but Microsoft just don't give a damn! Luckily, VisualAssist can correct their mistake: Simply add the declaration/definition to the h/cpp-file whenever it is being declared in one of the files. Of course it would be a good idea to have some kind of Yes/No-box appearing so you can skip this if you misspell your function etc.
Similarly, the function name should be updated in both files whenever it is changed.