Whole Tomato Software Forums
Whole Tomato Software Forums
Main Site | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
User name:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your password?

 All Forums
 Visual Assist
 Technical Support
 VS 15.8 prev 1 - Tooltip blink and VS crash
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

tony.riviere
Senior Member

France
49 Posts

Posted - May 11 2018 :  03:54:36 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
In the very last preview of Visual Studio 15.8 preview 1, when hovering a symbol, the tooltip is blinking 1~2 seconds and then it's OK.
After that, the IDE freeze and then crash often (maybe 10% of the time).

Maybe it has something related with their new feature: expanding macros in quick tooltip: https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/visualstudio/releasenotes/vs2017-Preview-relnotes#CPlusPlus

Note: if I disable VAX, the tooltip coming from Intellisense is working fine.

Edited by - tony.riviere on May 11 2018 03:57:06 AM

rpalma
Junior Member

Belgium
22 Posts

Posted - May 11 2018 :  05:23:23 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I want to add that the blinking of the tooltip is also present since this week's update to Visual Studio 15.7. This is very annoying.

But up to now, no crashes have occurred in this version.
Go to Top of Page

feline
Whole Tomato Software

United Kingdom
17013 Posts

Posted - May 11 2018 :  07:11:50 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Installing now, which looks like it is going to be a full VS2017 install.

zen is the art of being at one with the two'ness
Go to Top of Page

feline
Whole Tomato Software

United Kingdom
17013 Posts

Posted - May 11 2018 :  07:21:55 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
While 15.8 preview installs on another machine, I have been checking the tooltips in VS 2017 version 15.7.1, and so far no sign of any flicker when showing tooltips. I have made sure that I have set:

VA Options -> Enhanced Listboxes -> Source of C/C++ content: Visual Assist

Are you seeing this flicker with all tooltips on all symbols? Or is there some pattern to the symbols where you are seeing this? Could this be file or solution specific?

Can you please go to:

VA Options -> System Info -> Copy Info

and paste the details (from the clipboard) into your reply. This will give us the basic information about your setup. It will also let me make sure I am testing the same OS and VA version, in case this is a factor.

zen is the art of being at one with the two'ness
Go to Top of Page

rpalma
Junior Member

Belgium
22 Posts

Posted - May 11 2018 :  10:00:58 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Concerning 15.7.1:

Yes, the tooltip flicker occurs for all symbols: macro's, variables, class names, function names, ...

I created a vanilla C++ console solution, and in that one the flicker does not occur. So it is dependent on the solution. Maybe the number of symbols in the solution is a factor?

License: xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx Support ends 2018.11.24
VA_X.dll file version 10.9.2270.0 built 2018.04.30
DevEnv.exe version 15.7.27703.2000 Professional
msenv.dll version 15.0.27703.1
Comctl32.dll version 6.10.15063.0
Windows 10 10.0 Build 15063.1029
8 processors (x86-64, WOW64)
Language info: 1252, 0x813

Platform: Project defined
Stable Includes:
C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Kits\NETFXSDK\4.6.1\Include\um;
C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Kits\10\Include\10.0.17134.0\cppwinrt;
C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Kits\10\Include\10.0.17134.0\winrt;
C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Kits\10\Include\10.0.17134.0\shared;
C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Kits\10\Include\10.0.17134.0\um;
C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Kits\10\Include\10.0.17134.0\ucrt;
C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio\2017\Professional\VC\Auxiliary\VS\include;
C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio\2017\Professional\VC\Tools\MSVC\14.14.26428\atlmfc\include;
C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio\2017\Professional\VC\Tools\MSVC\14.14.26428\include;

Other Includes:

Stable Source Directories:
C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Kits\10\Source\10.0.17134.0\ucrt;
C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio\2017\Professional\VC\Auxiliary\VS\src;
C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio\2017\Professional\VC\Tools\MSVC\14.14.26428\crt\src;
C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio\2017\Professional\VC\Tools\MSVC\14.14.26428\atlmfc\src\atl;
C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio\2017\Professional\VC\Tools\MSVC\14.14.26428\atlmfc\src\mfcm;
C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio\2017\Professional\VC\Tools\MSVC\14.14.26428\atlmfc\src\mfc;

Go to Top of Page

tony.riviere
Senior Member

France
49 Posts

Posted - May 11 2018 :  10:12:03 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Few more details:
- I have Intellisense turned ON too. If Intellisense is disabled then no problem. So it's one or the other.
- While the tooltip is blinking, its content is changing. For example, I'm hovering a member function the 1st time it shows only the function name, the 2nd time it shows ClassName::FunctionName. Also the comment may change too. If there are namespace, they appear only afterward, etc...
- When it's blinking, there's a small progress bar in the status bar. I guess it's Intellisense which does lazy background work to gather information.

I think the effect is even more visible with a "not too small" project.

Note: actually I still use Intellisense for syntax coloration in the text editor because it has a better (but slower) coloration.

My info:

License: xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx (17-user license) Support ends 2018.07.19
VA_X.dll file version 10.9.2258.5 built 2018.03.06
DevEnv.exe version 15.8.27705.2000 Professional
msenv.dll version 15.0.27705.0
Comctl32.dll version 6.10.16299.371
Windows 10 10.0 Build 16299
8 processors (x86-64, WOW64)
Language info: 1252, 0x40c

Platform: Project defined
Stable Includes:
C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Kits\NETFXSDK\4.6.1\Include\um;
C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Kits\8.1\Include\winrt;
C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Kits\8.1\Include\shared;
C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Kits\8.1\Include\um;
C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio\Preview\Professional\VC\Auxiliary\VS\UnitTest\include;
C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Kits\10\Include\10.0.10240.0\ucrt;
C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio\Preview\Professional\VC\Auxiliary\VS\include;
C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio\Preview\Professional\VC\Tools\MSVC\14.14.26428\atlmfc\include;
C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio\Preview\Professional\VC\Tools\MSVC\14.14.26428\include;
C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio\Preview\Professional\VC\Tools\MSVC\14.14.26412\atlmfc\include;
C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio\Preview\Professional\VC\Tools\MSVC\14.14.26412\include;
C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Kits\10\Include\10.0.17134.0\cppwinrt;
C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Kits\10\Include\10.0.17134.0\winrt;
C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Kits\10\Include\10.0.17134.0\shared;
C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Kits\10\Include\10.0.17134.0\um;
C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Kits\10\Include\10.0.17134.0\ucrt;

Other Includes:

Stable Source Directories:
C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Kits\10\Source\10.0.10240.0\ucrt;
C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio\Preview\Professional\VC\Auxiliary\VS\src;
C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio\Preview\Professional\VC\Tools\MSVC\14.14.26428\crt\src;
C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio\Preview\Professional\VC\Tools\MSVC\14.14.26428\atlmfc\src\atl;
C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio\Preview\Professional\VC\Tools\MSVC\14.14.26428\atlmfc\src\mfcm;
C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio\Preview\Professional\VC\Tools\MSVC\14.14.26428\atlmfc\src\mfc;
C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio\Preview\Professional\VC\Tools\MSVC\14.14.26412\crt\src;
C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio\Preview\Professional\VC\Tools\MSVC\14.14.26412\atlmfc\src\atl;
C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio\Preview\Professional\VC\Tools\MSVC\14.14.26412\atlmfc\src\mfcm;
C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio\Preview\Professional\VC\Tools\MSVC\14.14.26412\atlmfc\src\mfc;
C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Kits\10\Source\10.0.17134.0\ucrt;


Edited by - tony.riviere on May 11 2018 10:14:04 AM
Go to Top of Page

feline
Whole Tomato Software

United Kingdom
17013 Posts

Posted - May 11 2018 :  12:35:29 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Can you please export your VA and IDE settings and send them to me:

VA Options -> Performance -> Export Settings
IDE tools menu -> Import and Export Settings -> Export selected environment settings

I can then import them here, which will save you describing how you have set everything up. Please submit the files via the form:

http://www.wholetomato.com/support/contact.asp

including this thread ID or URL in the description, so we can match it up.

Using VA's Open File and Find Symbol dialogs, how many files and symbols do you have in the solution where you are seeing this problem? In both cases this is the second number on the title bar of the dialog.

zen is the art of being at one with the two'ness

Edited by - feline on May 11 2018 12:35:52 PM
Go to Top of Page

feline
Whole Tomato Software

United Kingdom
17013 Posts

Posted - May 11 2018 :  1:47:28 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I don't think that solution size alone is the trigger here, unless your solution is really large.

I have now tried a larger stress testing solution, which has 25,000 files and 527,000 symbols. The nearest I am getting to what you are describing is when the mouse is not quite settled, and the tooltip changes / jumps as the mouse cursor moves from one symbol to another.

The progress bar you are seeing is interesting, it does suggest someone somewhere is parsing something, and that this is a factor. So far I am not seeing that effect here, so maybe it is related.

zen is the art of being at one with the two'ness
Go to Top of Page

tony.riviere
Senior Member

France
49 Posts

Posted - May 14 2018 :  02:58:03 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I could get rid off the issue by disabling the tooltip from Intellisense (Tools > Options > Text Editor > C/C++ > Advanced > Intellisense > Auto Quick Info).
I guess that when it's turn ON both Intellisense and VAX try to display their own tooltip.
When it's turned OFF, only the one from VAX appears and no problem.

Note: I can't remember if previously (when I hadn't any issue with older version) if the Intellisense's tooltip was turned ON or OFF.

Edited by - tony.riviere on May 14 2018 03:01:04 AM
Go to Top of Page

feline
Whole Tomato Software

United Kingdom
17013 Posts

Posted - May 14 2018 :  06:46:55 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I still cannot reproduce this problem here. I am using Windows 10, VS2017 version 15.7.1, with the following settings, based on your description:

IDE Options menu -> Tools > Options > Text Editor > C/C++ > Advanced > Intellisense > Auto Quick Info = True

VA Options -> Coloring and Attributes -> Enable Enhanced Syntax Coloring = On
VA Options -> Coloring and Attributes -> Apply coloring to -> Text Editors = Off
VA Options -> Coloring and Attributes -> Apply coloring to -> Tooltips = On

VA Options -> Display -> Show Quick Info tooltips for more symbols = On
Show additional comments when available = On
Show tooltips for braces and structural keywords = On

If this is not due to a specific combination of settings, then there is something about your system that is different to mine. Since no one else has mentioned this problem yet, I doubt it is simply due to the IDE and VA settings, but that is just a guess. I am guessing there is something else that is a factor as well.

Are you working on a system with multiple monitors?
Are you using any tools or utilities that might alter how the mouse works, or how tooltips are normally displayed?
Any other IDE extensions installed that might be a factor?

zen is the art of being at one with the two'ness
Go to Top of Page

tony.riviere
Senior Member

France
49 Posts

Posted - May 14 2018 :  07:53:42 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Yes I have the same settings. I've disabled my multi screen and other addons to be sure.

I have reset both Intellisense and VAX databases. Now I have a better behavior: Intellisense shows its tooltip, and then the one from VAX but it no longer alternate between the 2 during few seconds.
I think it's quite reasonable behavior now. As said earlier, I should have turn OFF Intellisense Quick Info tooltip to not have the issue at all.
Go to Top of Page

feline
Whole Tomato Software

United Kingdom
17013 Posts

Posted - May 14 2018 :  08:02:43 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
This does seem reasonable enough, but it's not what I am seeing here, or used to seeing happen, so that's a little odd.

Has there been any sign of the IDE freezing and then crashing lately? That is the much bigger concern here, since we really don't want to be responsible for crashing the IDE.

zen is the art of being at one with the two'ness
Go to Top of Page

sean
Whole Tomato Software

USA
2817 Posts

Posted - May 14 2018 :  12:52:04 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
If you are able to repro the crash, it would be great to get a crash dump. You can configure Windows Error Reporting to automatically capture dumps and save them. See Windows Error Reporting at https://docs.wholetomato.com/default.asp?W303#wer

Zip the dmp and then upload it via the contact form at https://www.wholetomato.com/support/contact.asp
Go to Top of Page

TomJons
Senior Member

25 Posts

Posted - Jun 05 2018 :  08:34:40 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I have the same problem. Tips are blinking several seconds and than it's ok.

When I disable Inteliisense auto quick info problem is solved
Go to Top of Page

feline
Whole Tomato Software

United Kingdom
17013 Posts

Posted - Jun 05 2018 :  11:05:23 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Any sign of crashes, or more serious problems? It is important to double check.

For these blinking tooltips, if you make a new, default solution are you still seeing this happen?

Does it happen on all tooltips, or only on some? I am wondering if there is a pattern here to help explain what is happening and causing this.

zen is the art of being at one with the two'ness
Go to Top of Page

TomJons
Senior Member

25 Posts

Posted - Jun 11 2018 :  05:38:00 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Crashes does not occur for me.

Blinking only. When I create new solution blinking still occurs, but only two-three times when system is busy and I can see small busy loading icon. I.e. when add new include i.e. iostream and system is busy to parse it.

The problem is more visible in large solutions like that I have in my daily routine ~ 6000 .cpp/.h files.
Go to Top of Page

feline
Whole Tomato Software

United Kingdom
17013 Posts

Posted - Jun 11 2018 :  09:19:25 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Can you please try running a CPU monitor, Task Manager in detailed view should be fine, to see if this flickering tooltip is triggered by high CPU load or a lot of Hard Drive activity? This certainly sounds like the system running slow is part of the trigger for you. If this is the trigger, it will be easy enough to test here.

zen is the art of being at one with the two'ness
Go to Top of Page

TomJons
Senior Member

25 Posts

Posted - Jun 11 2018 :  09:42:30 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I think that trigger is Visual Studio busy
Go to Top of Page

feline
Whole Tomato Software

United Kingdom
17013 Posts

Posted - Jun 12 2018 :  07:36:53 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Which version of VS2017 are you using, also which OS are you running? I am testing the current version of VS2017, 15.7.3, and testing under Windows 7 64bit.

So far I cannot reproduce this problem, so lets make sure I am running the same basic test first.

Which language or languages is your code in? I am testing in a mainly C++ solution, with C# code as well, but I am checking in a .cpp file.

zen is the art of being at one with the two'ness
Go to Top of Page

TomJons
Senior Member

25 Posts

Posted - Jun 20 2018 :  05:56:48 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Windows 7 64bit
VS2017, 15.7.3 and now VS2017, 15.7.4 as well, Im not sure which was the first version of VS in which this bug exists.
C++ solution does not matter if .h/.cpp file

How to reproduce:
Open big solution
VS Options: C/C++ -> Advanced -> IntelliSense -> Auto Quick Info = True
Move mouse cursor to any symbol. Tooltip will blink several times. On the bottom of the screen you can see loading/busy icon.
After busy icon disappear tooltip stops blinking.

Open another file and do the same.

How to resolve: VS Options: C/C++ -> Advanced -> IntelliSense -> Auto Quick Info = False

But with auto quick info set to false some symbols are unrecognized - i.e. auto is not resolved to correct type

Ask me if you need more information.

Kind regards,
Tom
Go to Top of Page

sean
Whole Tomato Software

USA
2817 Posts

Posted - Jun 20 2018 :  11:07:34 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Thanks -- I can repro. It looks like VA is displaying Quick Info before default intellisense is able to and they are closing it. If we can't figure out why it's happening, we'll have to delay ours to give them more time to display what they have. case=117209
Go to Top of Page

TomJons
Senior Member

25 Posts

Posted - Jun 26 2018 :  04:40:34 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
How can I check the status of given case number?

Regards,
Tom
Go to Top of Page

accord
Whole Tomato Software

United Kingdom
3277 Posts

Posted - Jun 26 2018 :  2:05:17 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
We don't have a public bug tracker but you are always welcome to ask about the progress/status of a case.

We update topics which mention a case number so if you subscribe to this page, you'll get notified once this is fixed.
We post case numbers on our build archie page so you can see there what's fixed:
https://support.wholetomato.com/default.asp?W404

This is our official explanation about cases:
https://docs.wholetomato.com/default.asp?W318
Go to Top of Page

sean
Whole Tomato Software

USA
2817 Posts

Posted - Jul 13 2018 :  2:46:55 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
We made an attempt to reduce the flicker in build 2283.
Go to Top of Page

TomJons
Senior Member

25 Posts

Posted - Aug 03 2018 :  06:18:10 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Yes, Thank You so much! :) I'm really pleased with your try!

It reduces blinking in 90% cases for me, I think. Now I can work normally with Auto Quick Info = true. Thanks a lot.

I noticed some situations when blinking still occurring but for now I can't specify a concrete case to reproduce. Let's stay in touch.

Go to Top of Page

feline
Whole Tomato Software

United Kingdom
17013 Posts

Posted - Aug 03 2018 :  09:35:10 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
When you think you have a pattern for what triggers the flickering do let us know, and I will see if I can reproduce it here.

zen is the art of being at one with the two'ness
Go to Top of Page

TomJons
Senior Member

25 Posts

Posted - Aug 06 2018 :  02:33:25 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I think I have one:

when I place the cursor on underlined error symbol, in example - 'incomplete type is not allowed' it flickering at least a few seconds.
Go to Top of Page

feline
Whole Tomato Software

United Kingdom
17013 Posts

Posted - Aug 07 2018 :  08:54:45 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Are you seeing this in large code files, or all code files?

After you have seen the flickering, does it happen again in the same file, or is it just a "once only" problem per file?

I can sometimes reproduce it here, in a large cpp file, but even then its a bit random.

zen is the art of being at one with the two'ness
Go to Top of Page

TomJons
Senior Member

25 Posts

Posted - Aug 08 2018 :  09:35:32 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Yes its a bit random. Usually once per large cpp while InteliSense loading all symbols, after that, issue does not exist.
Go to Top of Page

feline
Whole Tomato Software

United Kingdom
17013 Posts

Posted - Aug 08 2018 :  10:44:29 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
We were able to reproduce the flicker here only while Intellisense is still parsing the file and loading symbols as well, so it looks like the same problem. The only solution we found was to be slower in showing a tooltip, but if we try to slow down to much then you will be left waiting for tooltip information to appear.

Is this a real problem for you? Or something you can ignore and work around? I ask since we could not find a better solution at the moment.

zen is the art of being at one with the two'ness
Go to Top of Page

TomJons
Senior Member

25 Posts

Posted - Aug 10 2018 :  04:20:32 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
It is annoying for me. If you can slow down showing a tooltip in such cases and think this will help then you can try this solution. :)
I think slowing down showing tooltips in other code (last build) helps a lot. Maybe it will help in this case too.

Kind regards,
Tom
Go to Top of Page
Page: of 2 Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
Next Page
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Jump To:
© 2019 Whole Tomato Software, LLC Go To Top Of Page
Snitz Forums 2000