Author |
Topic |
|
Watulio
Junior Member
15 Posts |
Posted - Jan 19 2018 : 02:19:50 AM
|
So I was doing ok with my first unreal project with vassist, no problems there.
Then i make a second project and open the c++ classes in visual studio. Problem is, even if I have all my files as Non read only, VAssist EVENTUALLY, not inmediately, said "Visual Assist is unable to autocomplete this document", making me restart. After a few resets VassistX no longer works and won't autocomplete, it just highlights.
|
aaaa |
Edited by - Watulio on Jan 19 2018 9:52:33 PM |
|
Watulio
Junior Member
15 Posts |
Posted - Jan 19 2018 : 02:46:04 AM
|
ADDITIONALLY,
If you EVER do an autocomplete, Visual studio won't compile anything correctly, with random errors popping and whenver you double click on the error inside the log it just says "Project is running in another process" and won't highlight em |
aaaa |
|
|
Watulio
Junior Member
15 Posts |
Posted - Jan 19 2018 : 02:56:13 AM
|
Forgot info. here it is
VA_X.dll file version 10.9.2248.0 built 2017.12.16 DevEnv.exe version 15.0.27004.2010 Community msenv.dll version 15.0.27004.2010 Comctl32.dll version 6.10.16299.192 Windows 10 10.0 Build 16299
Visual Studio 2017 Community Version 15.4.5 |
aaaa |
|
|
feline
Whole Tomato Software
United Kingdom
19022 Posts |
Posted - Jan 19 2018 : 07:08:30 AM
|
Apologies for this, clearly this should not be happening.
Lets start with the basics. Which version of Unreal Engine are you using, and building with / against?
Can you please load regedit, and see what you have set for:
HKCU\Software\Whole Tomato\Visual Assist X\VANet15\EnableUnrealEngineC++ = 01
this key is from this page:
https://support.wholetomato.com/default.asp?W763
Even if this is not set, it does not explain the problems you are seeing.
Can you please look at task manager and see if you have a second, background "devenv.exe" process running? If so, does killing off this process make any difference? |
zen is the art of being at one with the two'ness |
|
|
Watulio
Junior Member
15 Posts |
Posted - Jan 19 2018 : 7:14:02 PM
|
Unreal version 4.18.2
HKCU\Software\Whole Tomato\Visual Assist X\<IDE spec>\EnableUnrealEngineC++ = 00 I have changed it to 01 and will be reporting on the results soon
Also I will be on the lookout for the background process mentioned |
aaaa |
|
|
Watulio
Junior Member
15 Posts |
Posted - Jan 19 2018 : 7:22:11 PM
|
Here's my report.
Even after changing the mentioned registry, there are not changes.
VAssistX won't autocomplete and any intended autocomplete change will stay FOREVER on Visual Studio's Error List until it's restarted, autocomplete still won't work.
No sight of the devenv background process either
|
aaaa |
|
|
ChrisG
Whole Tomato Software
USA
299 Posts |
Posted - Jan 19 2018 : 7:38:24 PM
|
Hello Watulio,
Sorry you are having this issue.
As a test, could you try copying the full path of a file showing the issue by right clicking on the file's tab and selecting "Copy Full Path"?
If you close an reopen (thorough Visual Studio, not through the Unreal Editor) a file showing the issue, is the issue fixed in that file? |
|
|
ChrisG
Whole Tomato Software
USA
299 Posts |
Posted - Jan 19 2018 : 7:39:22 PM
|
Additionally, could you provide the exact message that you get from VA when it fails to autocomplete?
Thanks for your trouble. |
|
|
Watulio
Junior Member
15 Posts |
|
Watulio
Junior Member
15 Posts |
Posted - Jan 19 2018 : 7:44:27 PM
|
As for the path of one of the files
G:/UnrealProject/CoopGame/Source/CoopGame/Private/SCharacter.cpp |
aaaa |
|
|
ChrisG
Whole Tomato Software
USA
299 Posts |
Posted - Jan 19 2018 : 8:05:19 PM
|
Thank you for that information, one more question if you don't mind.
If you close and reopen the file in Visual Studio, through the Solution Explorer (not the Unreal Editor) does the problem still repro? |
Edited by - ChrisG on Jan 19 2018 8:05:51 PM |
|
|
Watulio
Junior Member
15 Posts |
Posted - Jan 19 2018 : 9:05:46 PM
|
Yes. The error happens without fail after the first autocomplete attempt every time I restart Visual Studio |
aaaa |
|
|
ChrisG
Whole Tomato Software
USA
299 Posts |
Posted - Jan 19 2018 : 9:08:22 PM
|
Restarting Visual Studio would keep backwards slashes in the file's path (which I suspect is the cause of the issue). Please try closing the file (not Visual Studio) by right clicking on the file's tab inside Visual Studio and selecting Close. Then, reopen the file from inside Visual Studio.
Are you able to edit the file without issues then? |
Edited by - ChrisG on Jan 19 2018 9:10:49 PM |
|
|
Watulio
Junior Member
15 Posts |
Posted - Jan 19 2018 : 9:18:47 PM
|
Closing and opening the file (not project) keeps everything with backwards slash.
https://imgur.com/a/Axclo
When I use recent files to open the cpp file again, here's what I have |
aaaa |
|
|
ChrisG
Whole Tomato Software
USA
299 Posts |
Posted - Jan 19 2018 : 9:22:16 PM
|
Try using Solution Explorer to open the file again, reopening the file through recent files also keeps the backwards slashes unfortunately. |
Edited by - ChrisG on Jan 19 2018 9:22:36 PM |
|
|
Watulio
Junior Member
15 Posts |
|
ChrisG
Whole Tomato Software
USA
299 Posts |
Posted - Jan 19 2018 : 9:28:05 PM
|
The slashes in "Full Path" look correct, so please try closing the file and then double clicking it in Solution Explorer to reopen it. |
|
|
Watulio
Junior Member
15 Posts |
Posted - Jan 19 2018 : 9:31:47 PM
|
Alright, thought backlashes were bad, but they're ok then. I double clicked from the solution explorer and now it auto completes properly.
Thanks for the quick responses! |
aaaa |
|
|
sean
Whole Tomato Software
USA
2817 Posts |
Posted - Jan 19 2018 : 9:33:21 PM
|
backwards slash is '\' forward slash is '/' unreal editor appears to be using forward slash when it asks VS to open a file. VS accepts the path but the VS APIs that we use appear to choke for some reason. |
Edited by - sean on Jan 19 2018 9:35:19 PM |
|
|
Watulio
Junior Member
15 Posts |
Posted - Jan 19 2018 : 9:37:47 PM
|
I usually never open things from unreal but since I was making a new project it was opened by it. It won't happen again now I guess, and even if it does I know what to do.
Hopefully Microsoft hasn't had those chokes for years because that sounds like a problem begging to happen aaa |
aaaa |
|
|
sean
Whole Tomato Software
USA
2817 Posts |
Posted - Jan 19 2018 : 9:39:52 PM
|
Is g: a local drive or a mapped network drive? |
|
|
Watulio
Junior Member
15 Posts |
Posted - Jan 19 2018 : 9:45:51 PM
|
G is a local drive |
aaaa |
|
|
Watulio
Junior Member
15 Posts |
Posted - Jan 19 2018 : 9:53:02 PM
|
I have marked this as solved |
aaaa |
|
|
sean
Whole Tomato Software
USA
2817 Posts |
Posted - Jan 19 2018 : 9:55:39 PM
|
Thanks for bearing with our questions -- we haven't been able to repro the behavior, but I've opened a case for it case=113936. |
|
|
Watulio
Junior Member
15 Posts |
Posted - Jan 19 2018 : 10:00:24 PM
|
Here are the steps I did that made it happen:
1. Create a new c++ project in Unreal engine Version 4.18.2 2. Open project 3. Create C++ Class based on the Character class 4. Let unreal open visual studio 5. Error ensues. |
aaaa |
|
|
ChrisG
Whole Tomato Software
USA
299 Posts |
Posted - Jan 19 2018 : 10:32:46 PM
|
For some reason I can't repro with those steps. My current line of thinking is that there is possibly a configuration difference.
If it's not too much, could you send me a zip of the configuration files contained in the following folders?
(assuming default engine install path) C:\Program Files\Epic Games\UE_4.18\Engine\Config
(this is the config directory located in your game project) G:\MyProject\Config
You can attach the files and send them to me using the following form. https://www.wholetomato.com/support/contact.asp
Just use TOPIC_ID=14126 as the subject. |
|
|
|
Topic |
|