Visual Assist
 Technical Support
 Visual Assist no longer works in shaders VS 2022

You must be registered to post a reply.
Click here to register.

Screensize:
UserName:
Password:
Format: BoldItalicizeUnderlineStrikethrough Align leftCenterAlign right Insert horizontal ruleUpload and insert imageInsert hyperlinkInsert email addressInsert codeInsert quoted textInsert listInsert Emoji

Forum code is on.
Html is off.

Check to subscribe to this topic.

T O P I C    R E V I E W
daniwrig Posted - Dec 13 2022 : 3:39:18 PM
Hi, I'm a graphics programmer at Epic Games. I've been using Visual Assist in shader files for many years now and it has been broken ever since I switched to Visual Studio 2022. This is having a severe impact on my productivity.

I'm using the old method of adding .usf & .ush files to be handled as C++, then editing the registry keys EXTHeader and EXTSource to add them as well, rebuild VAX database. This workflow has worked for many years. I am NOT using the new 'Enable support for shader files (beta)' which I found to be completely broken.

VAssistX.OpenCorrespondingFile doesn't work when in a .usf or .ush file, which I really need to work. Functions are also not parsed and I can't go to their definitions.

Here's my version info.

VA_X64.dll file version 10.9.2471.0 built 2022.11.25
DevEnv.exe version 17.4.33103.184 Enterprise
msenv.dll version 17.0.33103.184
Comctl32.dll version 6.10.19041.1110
Windows 10 10.0 21H2 Build 19044.2251

I don't have a bunch of time to mess around with different settings and debug what might be causing this. It reproduces 2/2 times installing VS 2022 and latest VAX from scratch, so it should reproduce easily for you.
28   L A T E S T    R E P L I E S    (Newest First)
feline Posted - May 11 2023 : 06:04:19 AM
Thank you for the update, this is excellent news!
knarkowicz Posted - May 10 2023 : 4:28:21 PM
I've been using new version for a few days and it works great. Thank you!
feline Posted - May 04 2023 : 1:32:38 PM