Technical Support
 UE4 enum keyword in macro not coloring
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Kresjah

2 Posts

Posted - Mar 17 2018 :  11:54:34 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
When creating Unreal Engine 4 C++ macros Visual Assist fails to give the parameters (which are primarily based on enums) the correct colors.

This used to work, but stopped after I uninstalled Visual Assist (after ended trial) and later reinstalled Visual Assist (after purchasing key). I am fairly new to both Visual Studio and Visual Assist, so I have tried googling for tips on how to get this working. I was unable to find anything that specifically mentions this, and the info on Google that might be related (i.e. trying to rebuild Intellisense databases and such) as mostly geared at older version of Visual Studio. The Visual Studio version I have installed (Community 2017) seems to have changed around shortcuts and folder locations so I can't figure out how to resolve this.

Here's a random example from the web on how it is supposed to look. The Unreal Engine wiki wouldn't let me direct link the image, so here's a link to the image page:
https://wiki.unrealengine.com/File:Ue4-snippet-pasted.png

And this is how it looks like on my computer now:

Notice how in the UCLASS macro on the first image the parameters are purple, whereas in the second image from my computer the parameters are white. I have verified in the options that enums are supposed to be purple, and I have made sure the current code builds properly.

Any ideas on how I can resolve this?

feline
Whole Tomato Software

United Kingdom
18724 Posts

Posted - Mar 17 2018 :  2:05:06 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Currently VA is not trying to apply syntax colouring to the parameters of the U* macro calls, as explained here:

https://support.wholetomato.com/default.asp?W804