Longer term personal licenses
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

kfsone

USA
7 Posts

Posted - Sep 29 2017 :  3:57:38 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I've been buying VA licenses yearly since 2011 so I can use it at home on things (used to use my hotmail address). The general pattern is that I get 4-6 weeks of use out of it and then whatever I was working on at home turns into an actual work project and I don't use it again until 13 months later.

Right now I need a license for a few months so I can do some out-of-hours skunkworkx to resurrect my employer's Windows Build so our new developers can get back to working in MSVS, and... of course: "(Non-renewable license) Support ends 2017.08.07". Grr. Obviously, once it gets close enough, I'll have them buy a company license, but right now it's a purely guerrilla project.

Could we, please, get some way to buy longer-term licenses, even if it's not discounted? Or make it subscription based so I can pay for the months I use it or something?

feline
Whole Tomato Software

United Kingdom
18726 Posts

Posted - Sep 30 2017 :  12:10:05 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
You can continue to use your current license and version of VA. The only restriction with your license having expired is that you can no longer use the latest build of VA, but the license is still valid for any build of VA where required support is before 2017.08.07.

Your license allows you to run any build up to and including VA 2223, which can be downloaded from here:

https://support.wholetomato.com/default.asp?W404

zen is the art of being at one with the two'ness
Go to Top of Page

kfsone

USA
7 Posts

Posted - Oct 04 2017 :  5:51:46 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Sorry, feline, but the core of my question was this:

"Could we, please, get some way to buy longer-term licenses, even if it's not discounted?"