Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

aremmell

USA
12 Posts

Posted - Jul 24 2023 :  9:51:31 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I am sure you folks at WT are already aware that Windows11 provides an emulation layer for x86_64 and x86 binaries... and that Microsoft ported Visual Studio to arm64 in v17.4.

Why don't you just remove the install-time restriction, or simply change your compiler setting to arm64 and press compile?

I've been using VAX for 10+ years and now I can't because you don't support the CPU of The Future (TM).

Do you have an ETA on this? Or can you tell me how to hack the installer so it bypasses the architecture check?

Thanks

feline
Whole Tomato Software

United Kingdom
18843 Posts

Posted - Jul 25 2023 :  06:44:04 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
We are considering ARM support:

case=148242

but please remember our code base started with VC6, and is partly written in C++, so I would not like to assume you can simply tell it to compile for ARM and expect a perfect result.

Hacking the installer won't help, since VA currently doesn't have an ARM build, and unfortunately I don't currently have an estimate for this, but knowing how many people are interested in this is helpful to working out how to prioritise things.

zen is the art of being at one with the two'ness
Go to Top of Page

aremmell

USA
12 Posts

Posted - Aug 08 2023 :  1:54:58 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hello,

1. In fact, you can actually just add an ARM64 build configuration based on your x64 configuration in MSVS and press compile and I promise it will build perfectly; no changes to C++ syntax are necessary to compile for a different architecture-that's kind of the point of using a language like C++.